Indiana's Premier Health Achievement Awards to Be Presented

Indianapolis, IN - The Indiana Public Health Association (IPHA) and the Indiana Public Health Foundation (IPHFwill co-sponsor the 29th Annual Tony and Mary Hulman Health Achievement Awards on Thursday, November 14. These awards are Indiana's Premier Health Achievement Awards. Mohammad R. Torabi and Paul K. Halverson, founding Deans of the Indiana University School of Public Health - Bloomington and the Richard M. Fairbanks School of Public Health at IUPUI will serve as co-chairs of the Awards Banquet that celebrates important accomplishments of public health and health care in Indiana and the rich partnerships that make them possible.

The Indiana Public Health Lifetime Award for Distinguished Service in Years of Health Advancement will this year be awarded to Marjorie Hays, R.N., Rockville. Marjorie has been active in improving the physical and mental health of residents across West Central Indiana for many years through such organizations as the Parke County Welfare Department, Parents and Friends of Retarded Children of Parke County, Katherine Hamilton Mental Health Center, Burnett Manor senior housing and the Parke County Community Foundation. Marjorie, at the age of 87 continues to be active in the community. Recently she, \ along with a friend, applied for a grant to establish nutrition classes for local families and through that program the first community garden in Rockville was established. She also assisted in teaching the classes. The program has expanded and has achieved nonprofit status under the name FEET (Families Eating & Exercising Together).

Marjorie Hays, R.N

All these activities were to the benefit of the local and regional populations and affected all age ranges and both mental and physical health. Sponsors IPHA and IPHF are proud to honor Mrs. Hays with the 2013 Indiana Public Health Lifetime Award for Distinguished Service in Years of Health Advancement.

Other Tony and Mary Hulman awards announced are:

Achievement Award for Environment Health

Achievement Award for Geriatrics and Gerontology

Achievement Award in Preventive Medicine and Public Health

The Indiana Public Health Award for Excellence in Health Science Research

The Dr. Helen L. Scheibner Scholarship for Life Science and Public Health

The Hulman Awards Banquets will be held in the beautiful Cook Theater in Indiana Landmarks Center, 1201 N. Central Avenue, Indianapolis. The Landmarks Center, originally a place of worship built in the Romanesque Revival style in 1891, was restored in 2010 through a partnership between Indiana Landmarks and the Cook family of Bloomington. For more information or to purchase tickets, contact Maribeth Bailey at 317-520-9345 or

Return to 2013 News Stories